Optical illusions

Author: Max R. Dürsteler

Here you will find my demonstrations of optical illusions in the form of videos or interactive web applications, with which you can determine the relevant parameters such as the speed of moving stimuli yourself. My HTML5 WebGL applications created with Unity3D run on all web browsers that support the HMTL5 and Web GL standards. Currently, these are Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari. For the users of Android smartphones, I have created a first interactive Android application that they can download from the Google Playstore, iPhone and iPad users will find an interactive iOS application in the Apple iTunes App Store.

Freezing Rotation Illusion (Scheinbares Dreheinfrieren)

This illusion won first prize inThe Best Illusion ofthe Year Contest in Sarasota, Florida in 2006. The environment rotating back and forth deceives us that the rotational movement of an enclosed figure periodically freezes in time with the environment, while the figure actually rotates continuously around its sagittal axis.

https://youtu.be/IqFRIvRRWpI https://www.youtube.com/embed/bZbVTi3Ibmw

The video demonstrates:

  1. With the same (parallel) direction of rotation of the figure and the environment, the ratio of the mutual velocity amounts determines whether the figure periodically slows down or even stops or rotates as if glued to the environment.
  2. With different directions of rotation of the figure and the environment, the rotation of the figure seems to accelerate.
  3. While back and forth movements of the environment influence the perception of rotational movements of the figure, the reverse conclusion does not apply: Back and forth movements of the figure have no influence on the movement perception of the environment.

Presumably, these deceptions have to do with the fact that our visual system uses the normally stationary environment for image stabilization, similar to image stabilization in modern cameras. My interactive web application allows you to examine the critical parameters for these deceptions on your Mac or window computer or your smartphone itself.

Convince yourself, for example, that the plane does not rotate abruptly, but actually completely evenly by making the environment (“surround”) disappear (“Opacity” set to 0%). Play with the speeds of the plane and the environment to optimize the apparent “freezing” of the rotational movement with the same direction of rotation of the environment and the plane. or to “glue” the plane or other figure to the environment.

Click on the image below to launch my interactive WebGl application “Freezing Rotation Illusion” created with Unity3D.

Freezing Rotation WbGl Apllikation Image
Freezing rotation WbGl application.

If you are using an Android smartphone, you can download the interactive Android application“Apparent Rotation Freezing” from the Google Play Store. 

Freezing Rotation Illusion in 3D

Mixed reality is a new technology that makes it possible to create virtual, movable three-dimensional objects that can be placed somewhere in the real environment. To see these phantom images (holograms), a special vision device such as the Microsoft Hololens is needed. The Microsoft Hololens includes its own computer with a “holographic” version of Windows 10.

I created a 3D version of the Freezing Rotation Illusion: as a small model airplane (the “figure”) rotates continuously around its longitudinal axis. As “Environment I use a can-shaped ensemble of wedges surrounded by different colors and sizes. The ensemble moves back and forth.

If you have access to a Microsoft Hololens, you can download the “Freezing Rotation Illusion in 3D” application I created from the Microsoft App Store to your Hololens (click on the image below).

More information about the “Freezing Rotation Illusion” can be found in the following works:

Motion transparency

Motion transparency is the ability to perceive two independent movements in the same place of the retina. In a situation comparable to Utagawa’s woodcut

we can perceive both the movement of the rain in the foreground and the movements of a person on the bridge behind it at the same time.

Video Motion Transparency

On the video we see through a pattern of random points (comparable to the rain shower) a vertical sinus grid (comparable to a person in the rain). On the left section of the image, we can see the movement of the sinus grid behind the stationary point pattern just as well as the movements on the uncovered part of the grid. On the right section of the image, the dot pattern moves vertically without it dragging the physically stationary sine grid behind it in our perception: the part of the grid covered by the moving point pattern appears just as stationary as its uncovered part. The stimuli used here are both chiaroscuro stimuli. Does our perception of movement change when we replace the light-dark sinus grid with a red-green sinus grid with the smallest possible light-dark differences?

Motion transparency of a chiaroscuro and a color stimulus

In the left section of the image, the red-green grid moves at the same speed as the light-dark grid in the previous video. However, the actual perceived movement appears to be much lower. In the part of the image section covered by the stationary dot pattern, one must attentively follow a color edge in order to perceive the movement of the grid at all. At even lower speeds of the color grid, it would appear to be standing still: “StandstillIllusion” . In the right part of the image, you have to carefully fix a color edge to perceive that it does not move with the points in the vertical; it appears as if the moving points aredraggingthe color grid with them: “Motion Capture Illusion

Such and similar observations and experiments led researchers of the visual system to the conclusion that the perception of movement in light-dark stimuli and in pure color stimuli takes place via various mechanisms: via an efficient in light-dark vision and a sluggish mechanism dependent on attention in pure color vision. In the video, bright yellow stripes appear in a second part to show how fast the grid moves when we have “first order” light-dark motion receptors for motion perception.

Motion transparency with a chiaroscuro and a color stimulus with blurred (top) or sharp color transitions (bottom)

The video shows that we perceive movement much better when it comes to color stimuli when the boundaries between the colors are sharp. Researchers have experimentally shown that the motion perception of color stimuli with sharp edges (spatial frequency > 2Hz) and/or higher speed occurs via a far more efficient mechanism than with color stimuli with fuzzy edges.

Similar deficits of motion perception as in color stimuli can be found in stereo stimuli.

To perceive the differences in depth in one of the so-called anaglyphic stereo videos shown here, you need red-blue glasses similar to those shown above with a red filter in front of the left eye and a blue filter in front of the right eye.

Motion transparency with a light-dark and a stereo stimulus

To create depth stimuli or stereo stimuli, you need some structured pattern like our random point pattern, which allows you to create horizontal disparities between left and right retinal image. Here, the disparities encode a vertical lattice whose depth changes according to a sine function.

If the dot pattern moves synchronously with the depth grid (right half-side of the two image sections), it is easy to see that the grid is moving in the left image section. In the right section of the image, dot patterns and depth grids remain fixed.

On the left half-side, the dot pattern is stationary (individual points move horizontally to code for the downward moving stereo sine grid). On the right side of the left half- side, the dot pattern moves up and down in the vertical. You have to fix one of the sine waves or follow it to see if and which direction the depth grid is moving.

Researchers who experiment with motion perception have experimentally found evidence that the same sluggish, attention-dependent mechanism by which we recognize the movement of blurred color stimuli is also used for the motion perception of pure depth stimuli.

Complex Motion Illusions

Complex movements are rotation, expansion or contraction, and shearing. While our chiaroscuro vision detects complex movements almost as well as straight-line movements, the following videos show that these abilities are completely lacking in pure depth or stereo vision and partially lacking in color vision.

Stereo standstill and carry-on illusions

In the stereo motion standstill deception,where the random point pattern does not move, apart from slight shifts along the horizontals, we do not perceive rotation, contraction/expansion or shear movements of the stereo figure during central fixation. If we follow a single height in the periphery of the figures due to depth differences, we can only guess the movements. Yellow brightness patterns demonstrate how the stereo figure changes.

In stereo motion-taking deception, a physically stationary stereo figure appears to move with a rotating or contracting/expanding or shearing dot pattern.

The complex movement of the stereo figure cannot be perceived even if a dynamic dot pattern(“flicker”)is used instead of a static dot pattern.   Here, a new dot pattern is created for each frame of the video.If the yellow lines appear in the flicker, which are supposed to indicate the actual movements, the stereo figure seems to move with the yellow lines.

Stereo rotation standstill and carry-on movement deceptions
Stererad from concave sectors

Explanations in English are displayed at the top of the video.

Stereo expansion/contraction standstill and carry-on deceptions
Stereo wheel made of concentric rings.
Stereo shear arrest and stereo shear portability Deceptions
Stereo wheel made of concentric rings.
Stereo spiral motion standstill and stereo spiral motion portability Deceptions

Complex color motion illusions

In order to demonstrate complex color movement illusions, the color stimuli should be isoluminant, i.e. have no differences in brightness, which requires an elaborate calibration of the color stimuli used.  Alternatively, chiaroscuro masks.B such as our random dot pattern were used in visual research to suppress remaining light-dark components in the color stimulus. Without this having been explicitly mentioned, it tests the transparency of movement between a light-dark stimulus (the mask) and a color stimulus.

In the case of the color motion standstill deception,where the random point pattern does not move, apart from slight shifts along the horizontal, we do not perceive rotation, contraction/expansion or shear movements of the color figure at central fixation. If we follow individual color edges, we can only guess the movements. Yellow brightness patterns demonstrate how the color figure should move. Especially with the rotation, one has the paradoxical impression that the yellow stamps glide over seemingly stationary color sectors without ever crossing them.

In the color motion-taking deception, a physically stationary color figure seems to move with a rotating or contracting/expanding or shearing dot pattern.

The complex movement of the color figure cannot be perceived even if a dynamic dot pattern(“flicker”)is used instead of a static dot pattern.   Here, a new dot pattern is created for each frame of the video.If the yellow lines appear in the flicker, which are supposed to indicate the actual movements, the color figure with the yellow marks now seems to move along.

Color rotation standstill and rotation portability Deceptions
Color expansion/contraction standstill and carry-on deceptions
Colour-shear movement standstill and carry-on deceptions
Color spiral motion standstill and carrying deceptions

More videos on this topic can be found here:

If you are interested in the movement deceptions shown here, I refer you to the following article, in which you will also find further references:

Here is an example ofan interactive application created with Unity:

Stereo Rotation Standstill and Related Illusion Web-App: Click on the image to start the interactive HTML5-WebGL program.

Instructions for operation: make sure that the wheel sectors that stand out for this reason actually rotate by ticking the “Markers” box. Yellow markers appear, which rotate physically synchronously with the wheel sectors. One has the paradoxical impression that the brand wreath rotates over a seemingly stationary sector wheel without the brands ever crossing the sector boundaries.

In the drop-down list at the top right, switch e.B. from “Sectors” to “Rings” to see stereo expansion/contraction etc. The menu on the left is adjusted according to the adjustable parameter.

Below is the interactive WebGL application “Color Rotation Standstill Illusions” created in Unity3. Click on it to start the program.

Color Complex Motion Illusion Web App: Click on the image to launch the interactive HTML5 WebGL program.

Instructions for operation:

Please first take off the red-blue glasses, the illusion only works if the differences in brightness between red and green are close to zero. If necessary, you can adjust the colors to your monitor/light room projector in the menu. Again, you will find the new Unity3d WebGL application above, which is compatible with most new Internet browsers.

When the application starts, there seems to be nothing to move, although the color wheel rotates at a speed of 12°/sec. Tick the “Markers” box and you will experience your miracle: yellow color squares rotate cheerfully in circles, while the red sectors in between still do not seem to move (although the yellow squares never cross them). With the button “Change Mode” the speed settings are changed so that after the color standstill illusion you see the color take-away illusion the dot pattern rotates and the physically stationary color sectors seem to rotate along. After clicking again, they see a “normal” rotation when dot patterns and colors move synchronously. In the drop-down list at the top left, you can study other complex movements by choosing the appropriate color figure, e.B. when choosing “rings” expansion/contraction.

Colour stimuli with a sharp transition between the colours: standstill and deadweight deceptions only in the subliminal range

With the interactive application for complex color movements, you can find color stimuli with sharp color boundaries in the selection list (e.B. “BW Sectors”). Convince yourself that you now clearly perceive the rotation of the sharply limited color sectors at a rotation speed of 12°/sec. If you reduce the rotation speed to about 4°/s, you will only perceive the rotation if you actively follow a color limit in the periphery, i.e. You can still perceive the local translation movements, but not the rotation of the whole figure (subliminal area for rotations).

Standstill and carry-on deceptions during complex movements of contrast-modulated stimuli.

For the generation of contrast-modulated stimuli, similar to the generation of stereo stimuli, a structured pattern such as .B a random point pattern is used, the contrast of which is modulated according to the figure to be represented.

At a rotational speed of 12°/sec with a stationary point pattern, we can see the rotation of the sector wheel quite well.Movements of contrast-modulated stimuli aresecond-order motionstimuli;  the contrast is defined as the difference between the brightness of two points along the direction of movement.

At rotational speeds of less than 6°/sec, it becomes difficult to perceive the rotation of the whole wheel while still recognizing the local displacements of sector edges.  The stimulus thresholds for translation are lower than the stimulus thresholds for complex movements.

The perception of complex movements of contrast-modulated stimuli is as good as the perception of complex movements of chiaroscuro or sharply limited color stimuli behind a mask of random points; this is in clear contrast to the deficits shown in the perception of complex movements in stereo and blurred pure color stimuli.

Publications of Max R. Dürsteler

Imprint: Dr. Max R. Dürsteler, Burgweg 46, 8008 Zurich.

Illusions d’optique

Auteur : Max R. Dürsteler

Vous trouverez ici mes démonstrations d’illusions optiques sous la forme de vidéos ou d’applications Web interactives, ce qui vous permet de déterminer vous-même les paramètres pertinents tels que la vitesse des stimuli déplacés. Mes applications HTML5-WebGL créées avec Unity3D fonctionnent sur tous les navigateurs Web qui supportent les standards HMTL5 et Web GL. Actuellement, il s’adresse à Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome et Safari . Pour les utilisateurs de smartphones Android, j’ai créé une première application Interactive Android qu’ils peuvent télécharger à partir du Google Playstore, les utilisateurs d’iPhone et d’iPad trouveront une application iOS interactive dans l’Apple iTunes App Store.

Freezing Rotation Illusion (Gel de rotation apparent)

Cette illusion a reçu le premier prix du concours« The Best Illusion of the Year Contest »en 2006 à Sarasota, en Floride. L’environnement qui tourne d’avant en arrière nous fait croire que le mouvement de rotation d’une figure encerclée fige périodiquement au rythme de l’environnement, alors que le personnage tourne en permanence autour de son axe sagittal.

https://youtu.be/IqFRIvRRWpI https://www.youtube.com/embed/bZbVTi3Ibmw

La vidéo montre :

  1. Dans la même direction de rotation (parallèle) de la figure et de l’environnement, le rapport entre les montants de vitesse détermine si la figure ralentit périodiquement, voire s’arrête, ou si elle tourne avec l’environnement collé.
  2. La rotation de la figure semble s’accélérer avec des directions différentes de la figure et de l’environnement.
  3. Alors que les mouvements de l’environnement influencent la perception des mouvements de rotation de la figure, l’inverse ne s’applique pas: les allers-retours du personnage n’ont aucune influence sur la perception du mouvement de l’environnement.

Ces illusions sont probablement liées au fait que notre système visuel utilise normalement l’environnement stationnaire pour la stabilité d’image, un peu comme pour la stabilité d’image dans les caméras modernes. Mon application web interactive vous permet d’examiner les paramètres critiques de ces tromperies sur votre ordinateur Mac ou Window ou votre smartphone vous-même.

Par exemple, voyez-vous que l’avion ne tourne pas en un clin d’autre, mais en fait de manière uniforme, en faisant disparaître l’environnement (« Opacity » à 0%). Jouez avec les vitesses de l’avion et de l’environnement afin d’optimiser le « gel » apparent du mouvement de rotation à la même direction de rotation de l’environnement et de l’avion. ou pour « coller » l’avion ou un autre personnage à l’environnement.

Cliquez sur l’image ci-dessous pour lancer mon application WebGl interactive « Freezing Rotation Illusion » créée avec Unity3D.

Freezing Rotation WbGl Apllikation Image
Freezing Rotation application WbGl.

Si vous utilisez un smartphone Android, vous pouvez télécharger l’application interactive Android” Gel detournage apparentà partir du Google Play Store. 

Freezing Rotation Illusion en 3D

La réalité mixte est une nouvelle technologie qui permet de créer des objets virtuels, mobiles de trois dimensions qui peuvent être placés n’importe où dans l’environnement réel. Pour voir ces portraits-robots ( hologrammes), il faut un appareil visuel spécial comme les Hololens de Microsoft. Le Microsoft Hololens contient son propre ordinateur avec une version « holographique » de Windows 10.

J’ai créé une version 3D de la Freezing Rotation Illusion: un petit modèle d’avion (le « personnage ») tourne en permanence autour de son axe longitudinal. En tant qu’environnement, j’utilise un ensemble en forme de boîte entouré de coins de différentes couleurs et tailles. L’ensemble est en mouvement.

Si vous avez accès à un Microsoft Hololens, vous pouvez télécharger l’application « Freezing Rotation Illusion in 3D » que j’ai créée du Microsoft App Store vers vos Hololens (cliquez sur l’image ci-dessous).

Pour en savoir plus sur « Freezing Rotation Illusion », consultez les travaux suivants :

Transparence des mouvements

La transparence du mouvement est la capacité de percevoir deux mouvements indépendants au même endroit de la rétine. Dans une situation comparable à la gravure sur bois d’Utagawa

Nous pouvons percevoir simultanément le mouvement de la pluie au premier plan et des mouvements d’une personne sur le pont derrière.

Transparence des mouvements vidéo

Sur la vidéo, nous voyons une grille sinusoïdienne verticale (comparable à une personne sous la pluie) à travers un schéma de points aléatoires (comparable à l’averse). Sur l’extrait de gauche, nous reconnaissons aussi bien le mouvement de la grille sinusoïde derrière le schéma stationnaire que les mouvements sur la partie non couverte de la grille. Sur l’encolure droite, le motif de points se déplace à la verticale, sans que dans notre perception il n’attire la grille sinusoïdienne physiquement stationnaire derrière: la partie de la grille recouverte par le motif en mouvement semble aussi fixe que sa partie non couverte. Les stimuli utilisés ici sont à la fois des stimuli de l’obscurité. Notre perception du mouvement change-t-elle si nous remplaçons la grille sinusale claire et foncée par une grille sinuso-rouge-verte avec les plus petites différences de lumière et d’obscurité possible ?

Transparence des mouvements d’une lumière foncée et d’un stimulus de couleur

Dans l’extrait de gauche, la grille rouge-verte se déplace à la même vitesse la grille de lumière-obscurité dans la vidéo précédente. Mais le mouvement réellement perçu semble beaucoup plus faible. Dans la partie de l’extrait d’image recouverte par le motif stationnaire, il faut suivre attentivement un bord de couleur pour percevoir le mouvement de la grille. À des vitesses encore plus basses de la grille de peinture, celle-ci apparaît comme immobilisée: “Immobilisationde la tromperie de mouvement ” (en anglais »« illusion de silence »). Dans l’encolure droite, il faut fixer avec attention un bord de couleur pour se rendre compte qu’il ne se déplacera pas avec les points à la verticale; il apparaît comme si les points en mouvement tiraient la grille de couleur avec eux: “Emport de la tromperiede mouvement ” (en anglais “Motion Capture Illusion« ).

De telles observations et expériences similaires ont conduit les explorateurs du système visuel à conclure que la perception du mouvement dans les stimuli lumineux et les purs stimuli de couleur se fait par différents mécanismes: un mécanisme efficace pour la vision de la lumière et de l’obscurité et un mécanisme paresseux dépendant de l’attention dans la vue de la couleur pure. Dans la vidéo, des bandes jaunes apparaissent dans une seconde partie pour montrer à quelle vitesse la grille se déplace lorsque nous avons des récepteurs de mouvement « first order » pour la perception du mouvement.

Transparence des mouvements avec une pétitence claire et un stimulus de couleur avec des passages de couleur flous (ci-dessus) ou des passages de couleurs aigus (ci-dessous)

La vidéo montre qu’en cas d’irritation des couleurs, nous percevons beaucoup mieux le mouvement lorsque les limites entre les couleurs sont nettes. Des chercheurs ont montré expérimentalement que la perception du mouvement des stimuli de couleur avec des bords aigus (fréquence locale > 2Hz) et/ou plus rapide se fait par un mécanisme beaucoup plus efficace que pour les irritations de couleur avec des bords flous.

Des lacunes similaires à la perception du mouvement que pour l’incitation aux couleurs se retrouvent dans les irritations stéréo.

Pour percevoir les différences de profondeur dans l’une des vidéos anaglyphiques dites anaglyphiques affichées ici, il vous faut des lunettes rouges et bleues semblables à celles montrées ci-dessus avec un filtre rouge devant le filtre gauche et un filtre bleu devant l’œil droit.

Transparence du mouvement avec un éclair-foncé et un stimulus stéréo

Pour créer des stimuli profonds ou des hi-mailles, il faut un modèle structuré comme notre modèle de points aléatoires, ce qui permet de créer des disparités horizontales entre l’image de la rétine gauche et la droite. Ici, les disparités codent pour une grille verticale dont la profondeur change selon une fonction sinusale.

Si le motif de points se déplace en synchronisation avec la grille de profondeur (demi-côté droit des deux extraits d’image), on voit bien que la grille se déplace dans l’extrait gauche de l’image. Dans l’extrait droit, les motifs de points et les grilles en profondeur restent fixes.

À gauche de la demi-page gauche, le motif de points est stationnaire (certains points se déplacent à l’horizontale pour coder pour le mouvement de la grille sinusoïde stéréo descendante). À droite de la demi-page gauche, le motif de points dans la verticale se déplace de et en bas. Il faut fixer l’une des ondes sinusales, ou la suivre pour savoir si et quelle direction se déplace la grille profonde.

Les chercheurs qui s’occupent expérimentalement de la perception du mouvement ont trouvé des preuves expérimentales que le même mécanisme paresseux, dépendant de l’attention, qui permet de détecter le mouvement des stimuli de couleurs flous, est également utilisé pour la perception du mouvement des purs stimuli profonds.

Des étinsements de mouvement complexes

Les mouvements complexes sont la rotation (rotation), l’expansion ou la contraction (expansion ou contraction) et le mouvement de cisaillement (en anglais « shearing »). Alors que notre vision obscure détecte des mouvements complexes presque aussi bien que les mouvements linéaires, les vidéos ci-dessous montrent que ces capacités sont totalement absentes de la vue profonde ou stéréo pure et partielle de la vue en couleur.

L’arrêt stéréo et les illusions d’emporter

Lors de l’arrêt stéréo de la tromperie,où le modèle de points aléatoires ne bouge pas, on s’en va de légers décalages le long de l’horizontale, nous ne percevrons pas la rotation, la contraction/expansion ou les mouvements de cisaillement du personnage stéréo lors de la fixation centrale. Si nous suivons une seule hauteur dans le périphérique des figures par des différences profondes, nous pouvons tout au plus deviner les mouvements. Les schémas de luminosité jaunes montrent comment le personnage stéréo change.

Lors de la prise de mouvement stéréo, il semble qu’un personnage stéréo physiquement stationnaire se déplace avec un schéma de points qui tourne, se contracte/s’étend ou s’agite.

Le mouvement complexe du personnage stéréo ne peut être perçu même si un motif de point dynamique  (« flicker »)est utilisé à la place d’un motif statique de points. Un nouveau modèle de points est créé pour chaque image de la vidéo.Si les lignes jaunes pour afficher les mouvements réels apparaissent dans le patchwork, le personnage stéréo semble se déplacer avec les lignes jaunes.

Arrêt de la rotation stéréo et emportant des étinsements de mouvement
Stererad de secteurs concaves

Les explications en anglais sont affichées en haut de la vidéo.

L’expansion stéréo/contraction et l’emport tromperie
Stéréorad de anneaux concentriques.
Arrêt de cisaillement stéréo et prise de cisaillement stéréo Les tromperies
Stéréorad de anneaux concentriques.
Arrêt de mouvement en spirale stéréo et prise de mouvement en spirale stéréo tromperie

Des nuances de mouvement de couleur complexes

Pour démontrer des mouvements de couleurs complexes, les stimuli de couleur doivent être isoluminants, c’est-à-dire qu’il n’y a pas de différences de luminosité, ce qui suppose une calibration complexe des stimuli de couleur utilisés.  La recherche visuelle a également utilisé des masques à obscurité claire, comme par exemple.B notre modèle de points aléatoires, pour réprimer les autres composants de la lumière et de l’obscurité dans l’irritation des couleurs. Sans que cela n’ait été explicitement mentionné, on teste ainsi la transparence du mouvement entre un stimulus clair-obscur (le masque) et un stimulus de couleur.

En cas d’arrêt de mouvement de couleur,lorsque le motif aléatoire ne bouge pas, on s’en va de légers décalages le long de l’horizontale, nous ne percevrons pas la rotation, la contraction/expansion ou les mouvements de cisaillement de la figure de couleur lors de la fixation centrale. Si nous suivons des bords de couleurs individuels, nous pouvons tout au plus deviner les mouvements. Les schémas de luminosité jaunes montrent comment le personnage de couleur doit se déplacer. En ce qui concerne la rotation en particulier, on a l’impression paradoxale que les marques jaunes glissent sur des secteurs de couleurs apparemment stationnaires sans jamais les franchir.

Lors de l’emport de mouvement de couleur, une figure de couleur physiquement stationnaire semble se déplacer avec un motif de point tournant, contractant/expansion ou s’agitant.

Le mouvement complexe de la figure de couleur n’est pas perçu, même si un motif de point dynamique  (« flicker »)est utilisé à la place d’un motif statique de points. Un nouveau modèle de points est créé pour chaque image de la vidéo.Si les lignes jaunes pour afficher les mouvements réels apparaissent dans le patchwork, la figure de couleur avec les marques jaunes semble maintenant se déplacer.

Arrêt couleur-rotation et transport de tours tromperies
Arrêt couleur-expansion/contraction et emport tromperie
Blocage couleur-cisaillement et tromperie
Blocage couleur-spirale et emport tromperie

Vous trouverez d’autres vidéos à ce sujet ici:

Si vous vous intéressez de plus près aux étinouilles de mouvement présentées ici, je vous renvoie à l’article suivant, dans lequel vous trouverez également des informations bibliographique plus détaillées :

Voici un exemple d’une application interactivecréée avec Unity :

Stereo Rotation Standstill and Related Illusion Application Web: Cliquez sur l’image pour lancer le programme interactif HTML5-WebGL.

Instructions pour l’utilisation: assurez-vous que les secteurs de roues exceptionnels pour cette raison tournent effectivement en cochant le champ « Marqueurs ». Il y a des marques jaunes qui tournent physiquement en synchronisation avec les secteurs des roues. On a l’impression paradoxale que la couronne de la marque tourne au-dessus d’une roue de secteur apparemment immobile sans que les marques ne franchissent jamais les frontières sectorielles.

Dans la liste de sélection en haut à droite z.B passer de « Sectors » à « Rings » pour voir l’expansion/contraction stéréo, etc. Le menu gauche est ajusté en fonction du paramètre réglable.

Ci-dessous, dans Unity3, webGL a créé une application interactive « Color Rotation Standstill Illusions ». Cliquez dessus pour lancer le programme.

Color Complex Motion Illusion Application Web: Cliquez sur l’image pour lancer le programme interactif HTML5-WebGL.

Instructions d’utilisation:

S’il vous plaît tout d’abord enlever les lunettes rouges et bleues que l’illusion ne fonctionne que si les différences de luminosité entre le rouge et le vert sont proches de zéro. Si nécessaire, dans le menu, vous pouvez personnaliser les couleurs à votre moniteur/projecteur d’espace lumineux. Une fois de plus, vous trouverez ci-dessus la nouvelle application Unity3d WebGL, qui est compatible avec la plupart des nouveaux navigateurs Internet.

Lorsque l’application démarre, rien ne devrait bouger, bien que la roue de couleur tourne à une vitesse de 12°/sec. Croisez le champ « Markers » et vous vivrez votre miracle: le quadrilatère jaune tourne en rond, tandis que les secteurs rouges entre les deux ne semblent toujours pas bouger (même si les quadrilatère jaunes ne les croisent jamais). Avec le bouton « Mode de changement », les réglages de vitesse sont modifiés de telle sorte qu’après l’illusion de couleur-arrêt, l’illusion de couleur voit le motif de point tourne et les secteurs de couleurs physiquement stationnaires semblent tourner. Après un nouveau clic, vous verrez une rotation « normale » lorsque les motifs de points et les couleurs se déplacent de manière synchronisée. Dans la liste déroulante en haut à gauche, vous pouvez étudier d’autres mouvements complexes en choisissant la figure de couleur appropriée, par exemple.B lors du choix de « rings » expansion/contraction.

Stimuli couleur avec transition nette entre les couleurs: feintes d’arrêt et d’emport uniquement dans la zone subliminales

Avec l’application interactive pour les mouvements de couleurs complexes, vous pouvez trouver dans la liste de sélection des stimuli de couleurs avec des limites de couleurs aiguës (par exemple.B. « BW Sectors »). Assurez-vous qu’à une vitesse de rotation de 12°/sec, vous percevrez clairement la rotation des secteurs de couleurs très limités. Si vous réduisez la vitesse de rotation à environ 4°/s, vous ne percevrez la rotation que si vous suivez activement une limite de couleur dans la périphérie, c’est-à-dire. Vous pouvez encore percevoir les mouvements de translation locaux, mais pas la rotation de la figure entière (zone subliminale pour les rotations).

Arrêt et tromperie d’emporter dans les mouvements complexes de stimuli de contraste.

Pour la génération de stimuli modulés de contraste, on utilise, comme pour la création d’irritations stéréo, un motif structuré tel que.B. un motif aléatoire dont le contraste est modulé en fonction de la figure à représenter.

Avec une vitesse de rotation de 12°/sec avec un schéma stationnaire, nous reconnaissons assez bien la rotation de la roue du secteur.Les mouvements de stimuli modulés de contraste sont des stimuli de mouvement de second ordre ( »second order motion« );  le contraste est défini comme la différence entre la luminosité de deux points le long de la direction du mouvement.

Avec des vitesses de rotation inférieures à 6°/sec, il devient difficile de percevoir encore la rotation de la roue entière, alors que l’on voit encore les déplacements locaux des bords du secteur.  Les seuils de stimulation pour la translation sont plus bas que les seuils de stimulation pour les mouvements complexes.

La perception de mouvements complexes de stimuli de contraste est aussi bonne que la perception de mouvements complexes de la lumière foncée ou des stimuli de couleurs fortement limités derrière un masque de points aléatoires; C’est une différence évidente avec les lacunes affichées dans la perception de mouvements complexes dans les stimuli stéréo et les couleurs pures limitées.

Publications de Max R. Dürsteler

Mentions légales: Dr. Max R. Dürsteler, Burgweg 46, 8008 Zürich.